1. Home
  2.  | 
  3. Divorce
  4.  | California Has a Divorce Waiting Period

California Has a Divorce Waiting Period

On Behalf of | Jan 27, 2022 | Divorce

While Alaska, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, and Virginia have no divorce waiting period at all, all other states do require that couples wait a certain amount of time before their divorces can be finalized, and this is certainly the case for divorces in California.

Why Do States Have Divorce Waiting Periods?

With a significant percentage of marriages ending in divorce these days, most state legislatures feel a divorce waiting period is a good idea. It forces couples to go to their separate corners, sleep on it, take some time apart, and really make sure there is no way to save their union. Some spouses use this time to reconcile while others simply wait it out, never straying from the plan to divorce. In either situation, the waiting period is mandatory for California divorce cases.

California Has One of the Longest Waiting Periods

Along with Delaware and Louisiana, California has a 180-day waiting period for divorces. This “cooling off” period is to ensure that both of you feel the marriage can not be reconciled. Even if you and your spouse agree to all of the terms of your divorce and file an uncontested divorce that only needs court approval, the law still prevents a court from finalizing the divorce for six months. This is a hard and fast rule in our state, so you should be prepared to wait out this time period, even for what you think should be a quick case.

We Are Experienced Long Beach Divorce Attorneys

While we can’t shorten your California divorce waiting period, we can give you experience and dedication to help your divorce go as smoothly as possible. Furubotten Law is ready to guide you through this new chapter. Reach out today to book a consultation with one of our Long Beach divorce lawyers today.